We are a football club based in Leicester serving the lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender communities. Formed in 1996, we believe that sexual orientation should not be a barrier to playing sport. But unfortunately, despite being football being the biggest sport in the world, it can be intimidating for LGBT people due to the homophobic attitudes still prevalent in the game.

Challenging Attitudes

The Wildecats have been challenging these attitudes for over two decades, and we provide an outlet for people to play football in a friendly non-judgemental environment.
We attract both male and female players of all abilities, ages, and races and are proud to be a community club. We even have straight players who believe in our ethos!
So why not come along to one of our kickabouts, which take place every Tuesday at 7.30pm at St Margarets Pasture 3G astroturf pitches. New members are always welcome to try us out – it’s an alternative to going out on the scene and you’ll get fit!


The Wildecats, Leicester’s only LGBT football team, was formed in August 1996.
Only Stonewall FC and Village Manchester FC were established earlier. Since 1996 around 500 different players have been involved with our club.
Most have been gay, lesbian, bisexual or transgender, but straight friends and family members have also participated.
The vast majority of players would not otherwise have considered playing football if the team did not exist.
The team has a constitution and a bank account, and is run by an elected committee. We are members of the British Gay & Lesbian Sports Federation, the Leicestershire and Rutland County Football Association and Leicester LGBT Centre.
We are also supporters and participants of Leicester Pride.

The committee

The Leicester Wildecats comprises of 9 committee members all of which make the key decisions for the club moving forward. The committee are actively involved in promoting the club, organising sponsors, membership fees, social events and running our annual tournament. Currently the committee consist of:

  • Steve Niblett (Chair)
  • Tim Law
  • Gary Newitt
  • Mike K (Manager)
  • Liam Smith
  • Stuart Allaway
  • Gareth Miller (Treasurer)
  • Steven Crofts
  • Mikey Collins

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.